Different Stages of Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis , (4th is shocking…!)

Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, also known as chronic lymphocytic thyroiditis and Hashimoto’s disease, is an autoimmune disease in which the thyroid gland is gradually destroyed. Early on there may be no symptoms. Over time the thyroid may enlarge forming a painless goiter.Some people eventually develop hypothyroidism with its accompanying weight gain, feeling tired, constipation, depression, and general pains.After many years the thyroid typically shrinks in size. Potential complications include thyroid lymphoma.Hashimoto’s thyroiditis is thought to be due to a combination of genetic and environmental factors. Risk factors include a family history of the condition and having another autoimmune disease. Diagnosis is confirmed with blood tests for TSH, T4, and antithyroid antibodies.Other conditions that can produce similar symptoms include Graves’ disease and nontoxic nodular goiter.here are 5 stages of Hashimoto’s thyroiditis.

5 Stages of Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis

Stage 1:

  • You have a genetic predisposition to develop Hashimoto’s but don’t have the condition
  • You are not exposed to any triggers
  • Thyroid function is in range

Stage 2:

  • Beginning stage of an autoimmune attack
  • May score a positive results with antibodies but other levels (TSH, Free T4. Free T3) are normal
  • You may be falsely labeled by your doctor to have anxiety, depression, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia and a hypochondriac

Stage 3:

  • Beginning stage of thyroid failure
  • You will see an increase in your TSH levels
  • Starting to have more symptoms ( fatigue, hair loss, vertigo, weight loss/gain, dry skin, acne, etc)

Stage 4:

  • Thyroid gland is at a failure level
  • Thyroid can no longer make enough hormone due to continue damage to the thyroid tissue
  • All labs should show that you are out of range
  • You may have high levels of TSH and low levels of Free T3 and Free T4
  • Most of the time you are not put on medication ( synthroid, Levothyroxine, etc)

Stage 5:

  • Additional autoimmune disease can appear ( lupus, Rheumatoid arthritis, sjogrens, psoriasis and many others)